Sincerely J.G.R.

J. G. R. which stands for Joselyn Garcia Rayo wasn’t always my name. It was simplified to Joselyn Garcia back in 1999 when I moved to United States from Nicaragua. It wasn’t until I decided to move forward with the “naturalization” process that I dropped my alien number and added my second last name back to my official documents.

So in a way, I was naturalized twice in my life: The day I was born and the day I added back that second last name which to me has become part of the essence of my identity as an immigrant who now has a daughter: Luna. An identity that exudes deep roots with my Nicaraguan culture, resilience to provide a better life for Luna, and a constant search for the gratification of having family values, social justice awareness, and thirst for new and exhilarating adventures.

So I decided to open a blog to portray the essence of my identity through various writings both in Spanish and English as well as poetry in hopes to raise consciousness in matters that affect us and our future generations, become more open-minded, and be positively present.

Sharing my story, my perspectives and my reality is an act of courage and vulnerability. It has taken me many years to understand myself and accept all the different external circumstances that have brought me here. I’ve come to understand the power of love and synchronicity to the point that I appreciate intentional acts of kindness and compassion. So to me is important to be intentional in everything you do in order to be able to leave a timeless mark  on the world.

Sincerely,

 

J. G. R.

09722231596147dcffc433e44040a73c

One thought on “Sincerely J.G.R.

Leave a comment